Harlequin: Force Org & Psychic Discipline

harlequins-new-releases

The harlequins have a force org like no other, and an all new psychic discipline.  Come see!

via ChaosFTW 2-11-2015

First up the FOC:

 

image-40 image-39

And we have our first NO-HQ armylist in the game.  Not a lot of heavy support in there either.  But boy are the Harlequins all about the ELITES!

 

Then take a look at Phantasmancy: 

 

image-41

I’m thinking this is all about deception and misdirection.  Should be very cool!

~ I want my codex today!

  • Cerri Love

    So if they have no HQ slot does that mean they cant be taken as allies? Seeing as allies require 1 HQ and 1 troop minimum?

    • Ultramart

      do you think GW would release an un-allyable army? dont be silly.

      • Commissar Molotov

        *lonely Tyranid gaunt is sad*

        • Chris. K Cook

          Even you guys can ally now,it is just awkward and not advisable.

          But who knows maybe GW or FW will do Genestealer Cults soon.

      • Hahboo

        Not on purpose

      • deris87

        In the sense of releasing an army that can’t be used as an Allied Detachment? Seemingly they have. You could always go Unbound or take the full Detachment listed here, but unless there’s an HQ choice we just haven’t seen you can’t take an Allied Detachment of them.

        • Benjamin Tull

          Yeah, I can almost guarantee we will see a formation that consists of 1 Troupe + Transport and maybe an attached character (hopefully Shadowseer).

      • Both Inquisition and legion of the Damned cannot be taken as allied detachments because they either lack HQ choices or Troops choices, they instead have their own detachment. That appears to be the case for harlequins as well

      • ang56

        tyranids! though more to the point they don’t look able to use the “Allied Detachment” chart from the rule book. Which is fine by me tbh.

        They will likely come with multiple ways to be fielded as an allied attachment of some sort either though their own force org charts or formations (As with most codex’s released in the last year). There are several more ways to build a list besides just CAD and Allied.

        The tournament scene may have to change some restrictions because as it looks at the moment by a lot of TO’s rules you would only be able to use Harlequins as an ally through a formation, and not all of them allow formations.

        The 1 primary detachment and 1 allied detachment would make using harquins as an ally problematic from the looks of these previews.

        • Ultramart

          dude, read “come the apocalypse” ally rules

    • ApocaLeepse

      I’m sure they’ll be the exception, as they seem to be much like last year’s Militarum Tempestus – small army that seems to be built for attaching to larger armies more than anything else. Plus Harlequins are already in the Dark Eldar Codex (and Eldar Codex too if I’m not mistaken).

      • Nymraif

        They were taken out of the newest Dark Eldar book, probably because of this release.

        • pskontz

          and will probibly be taken out of eldar when they are redone if =][= is a example

    • pokemastercube .

      that is if you want to take them via the combined arms detachment system, remember you can have as many detachments as you wish, all the ally part of the combined arms does is allow a small force but at the cost of that one cant contain a warlord, fortifacation or LoW

      • deris87

        I think you mean Battleforged. Harlequins can’t take a CAD either because they’re lacking any option for the compulsory HQ. You could take a CAD of something else and include this detachment and have a Battleforged army, but Harlequins themselves can’t make up a CAD or Allied Detachment.

        • sethmo

          No…..

          A CAD is no different than any other detachment.

          • deris87

            A CAD is a specific kind of detachment that requires 1 HQ and 2 Troops, and grants you specific bonuses. Harlequins can’t take a CAD because they can’t take an HQ (that we know of). Harlequins can be part of Battleforged Army only if they’re taken in this cumbersome detachment in their rulebook, otherwise you’re looking at going Unbound. It’s not the end of the world, but it’s kind of annoying.

          • Chris. K Cook

            Again what is cumbersome about this?

            I mean other than dealing with the griping of people who still think it’s 6th ed?

          • The Basement Gamer

            6 compulsory choices instead of 3 perhaps?

          • deris87

            Exactly so. ~500pts of Harlequins minimum is not my idea of a good allied force.

          • deris87

            Exactly so. ~500pts of Harlequins minimum is not my idea of a good allied force.

    • Haighus

      You can probably just take this detachment alongside your main detachment.

      • daboarder

        Like ALL detachments.

        The idea that you can only take a force from another codex by taking an allied detachment is long dead

        • Haighus

          Exactly 🙂

        • Houghten

          Except in the minds of a depressingly large chunk of the player base, it would seem.

          • Chris. K Cook

            Thats because the Tourny crowd aren’t playing 7th ed they are playing Neuterhammer.
            Trying to force army building into some weird 5th/6th ed hybrid system that minimises the surprises for the Mathhammering Netlisting Point and Click WAAC crowd.

          • Chris. K Cook

            Thats because the Tourny crowd aren’t playing 7th ed they are playing Neuterhammer.
            Trying to force army building into some weird 5th/6th ed hybrid system that minimises the surprises for the Mathhammering Netlisting Point and Click WAAC crowd.

        • deris87

          It’s still a little obnoxious that you if you want Harlequins in a Battleforged list you have to take this fairly large and sprawling detachment, and can’t simply use the Allied Detachment. That’s all anyone seems to be complaining about.

          • Chris. K Cook

            What makes it sprawling? What is the difference between Allies inside the CAD and Allies outside of it?

          • miteyheroes

            What makes it sprawling is having to take 6 units (3 troops, 2 fast attack, 1 heavy support). Whilst the normal Ally Detachment is much smaller.

          • Benjamin Tull

            The Starweavers are Fast Attack, so if you were planning on putting your Harlies in a transport, there isn’t really much of a tax (just the Voidweaver, really, which is 75 points). I think it will be fine. My real issue is that you can’t take more than 3 troupes. It’s 3 or 6, or nothing.

          • deris87

            But that’s just it. If I want to include just a single Troupe and maybe a Starweaver, I have to give up objective secured. Barring formations we may not have seen yet, there’s no way to include a small contingent in a Battleforged list–based off this detachment you’re looking at a minimum of 500ish points.

          • deris87

            There’s no such thing as allies inside a CAD. A CAD is the old school FOC, taken from a single faction. There’s also the Allied Detachment, both of which are an option for a Battleforged list. The difference between allies in a Battleforged list and an Unbound list is if I just want to include a single Troupe in a Starweaver, I’ll lose Objective Secured even if the rest of my army is CAD compliant.

        • Chris. K Cook

          Or you can just run a bunch of Detachments other than the CAD one.

        • -X-TheRower-X-

          I had to scroll down way too far for someone to finally point this out. Thank you, was about to rant…

    • cough unbound cough

      • Chris. K Cook

        Not required. Try reading the 7th ed rule book on how armies are built these days sometime.

      • Chris. K Cook

        Not required. Try reading the 7th ed rule book on how armies are built these days sometime.

    • Houghten

      They cannot be taken as an Allied Detachment; that doesn’t mean you can’t take a Masque as a detachment that is not your Primary Detachment.

    • ruleslawyer

      Legion of the Damned doesn’t have a HQ unit and they can ally just fine

    • dakota5X5

      you wouldn’t field them as an allies detachment but as a harlequins detachment from their rule book. you’d get the as yet unannounced command benefit from that instead of the objective secured for troops that you get for allied detachment. judging by the pic their might be three detachments (light dark &twilight) and these will determine how close to either eldar/dark eldar sensibilities they are.
      loosing objective secured might not be that important to harlies as they’re more suited to melee and fast movement than digging in and holding. again, until we see their objective cards it’s all speculation.

      presumably, harlies will be eldar faction allowing players to take them with dark eldar and eldar as battle brothers and so on. much in the same way there’s an imperial faction, there will be an eldar faction of harlies, dark, and pure eldar.

  • Beefy

    Phantasmancy? R U 4realz? Does it give you jazz hands. Sounds kinda silly. No HQ? That’s just interesting. Definitely going to have to check this out.

  • benn grimm

    Well that looks pretty silly…

  • chris

    So what makes a Harlie heavy support? I must have missed that model somewhere.

    Also, with regards to elites the only elite I’ve seen is the solitaire. Does this mean you can take 7 of them? The harlie’s themselves are troops…

    • Haighus

      New Starweaver gunship variant, name eludes me (something-weaver).

      • isn’t it the voidweaver ?

        • Haighus

          Yup, that’s the one. Was just feeling to lazy to go check 🙂 (and couldn’t remember it).

      • chris

        So the venom look alike is “heavy”? They must have been reaching on that one. Hope it is at least AV12

        • Haighus

          Well, if you look at it within the perspective of the list, it is Heavy Support. Compared to other Codices, then yeah, it isn’t, but for the Harlequins, they will never have something heavily armoured, they are all about manoeuvrability and hitting power.

          • Majere613

            Well, they used to get Land Raiders, but they kept breaking down 🙂

          • Damistar

            +1 to you Sir for the old Rogue Trader memory.

          • chris

            I think it’s just funny that such a small vehicle is labeled “heavy” when they could just as easily have labelled it fast attack.

            It’s an interesting choice.

        • withershadow

          AV10, 2 hullpoints.

        • Chris. K Cook

          Stop comparing them to other armies. The Void Reaver is the heaviest that the Harlies run, their for it is THEIR Heavy Support.

          Not every army has to have a Leman Russ/Land Raider.

        • Anggul

          Heavy support doesn’t have to mean armour, it usually means hitting power. In this case it’s the heaviest source of firepower for Harlequins. It provides ‘heavy support’.

    • Matthew Everhart

      The rumor is Death Jesters and Shadowseers are also elites. the 7 elites makes sense, its one shadowseer and one death jester per harlequin troupe plus a a solitaire.

  • Tynskel

    First non-HQ army list of the game?
    What about all those formations without HQs?

    • Secundum Ave

      A formation isn’t an army by itself. It CAN be, but not all of them are.

    • Secundum Ave

      A formation isn’t an army by itself. It CAN be, but not all of them are.

      • Chris. K Cook

        Actually almost all of them can be. And the ones that can’t you take multiples.

        • Secundum Ave

          But all formations that can be taken as an army have an HQ.

    • ruleslawyer

      Cough “Legion of the Damned” cough

  • latro990

    d’ja think once a thousand years Jain Zar, Lileth, the masque and the company of the threefold stranger halequin dance group and a calidus assassin representative meetup for a dance off to see whos Da BeSs…. i mean… you can take all of them in the same army… why not.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12VUjgYMm1U

  • latro990

    d’ja think once a thousand years Jain Zar, Lileth, the masque and the company of the threefold stranger halequin dance group and a calidus assassin representative meetup for a dance off to see whos Da BeSs…. i mean… you can take all of them in the same army… why not.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12VUjgYMm1U

  • Jared van Kell

    I see Phantasmancy pairing up quite nicely with Telepathy.

    • Anggul

      Fluff-wise it’s the same thing, but I guess they wanted to make sure you got things that are relevant to Harlequins. Probably going to be necessary for them to survive just like Shadowseers always have been because holo-suits still suck.

      • Jared van Kell

        I have also noticed that in addition to Phantasmancy and Telepathy they also get access to Santic Daemonology. Now this actually makes sense to me since combating the powers of Chaos is one of the many roles of the Harlequins.

  • Julio Lenin Roman Martinez

    Go unbound and field them wathever you like along a bunch of Noise marines and/or Slaneesh daemons. Just for the lulz

  • Julio Lenin Roman Martinez

    Go unbound and field them wathever you like along a bunch of Noise marines and/or Slaneesh daemons. Just for the lulz

  • Matthew

    Wait, no Troupe Masters? WTF?

    I’m guessing whoever came up with the units in this codex didn’t actually know anything about Harlequin lore and just had some models in front of him.

    • deris87

      You haven’t been following the release details. The Troupe Master is a mandatory character that comes in the base Troupe unit.

      • NikosanPrime

        I think he was commenting on the High Avatars that were the Masters of the Masque. They, along with the High Warlocks, would have been the natural HQ choices for the army. Or I could be wrong and he was commenting on the regular Troupe Masters, or Troupe Leaders, or Avatars, which is what they were originally called.

        But, whateves, I mean I am just going to take an absurd unbound army.

        • deris87

          Yeah, unless there’s some simple and handy Formations that we haven’t seen yet (which does seem likely), they’ll be too awkward to include any other way. As you said though, whatevs, I’ve already got an Unbound list for my Coven army with a converted Boneripper model as a counts-as Wraithknight.

        • Matthew

          That’s exactly what I was talking about. It’s like 20 years of organizational structure for the Harlequins just got rewritten…

          • NikosanPrime

            The other possibility is that this is only a formation and is not the standard CAD. That is my only hope as I really like my Harlequins. Have way too many to be happy not being able to field them all. Like really unhappy, like 120+ unhappy.

    • Houghten

      You mean the character that you can upgrade one Player per Troupe into?

  • Matthew

    Wait, no Troupe Masters? WTF?

    I’m guessing whoever came up with the units in this codex didn’t actually know anything about Harlequin lore and just had some models in front of him.

  • Patrick O’Dell

    So just to clarify after looking at the force organization page that was uploaded from the codex or white dwarf: you need to take 7 elites to be able to a solitaire? I thought the solitaire was am elite. How does that work?

  • bassface7

    Aren’t these guys Faction: Eldar (given the codex cover is Codex: Eldar – Harlequins) if so you can just take them in a normal Eldar CAD in their normal Battlefield role.

    • Matthew Everhart

      I hope this is true, and I do see your point after looking at the leaked codex cover, but I doubt it,

      as that would move Harlequins from elites to troops. Who knows though, maybe there will be some kind of restriction allowing you to do this.

  • flyingtam

    So who do you make your Warlord if there is no HQ choice? Do they even have a Warlord’s Trait Table?

    • georgelabour

      According to the section on the rule book covering warlords it becomes any model with the character trait, and or whatever is outlined in the relevant army book.

  • georgelabour

    Minor correction in the article. This is the second no HQ army book we’ve had, but the first made in the current edition.

    The first of course was Imperial knights.

    EDIT: It’s also worth noting that it’s been possible to run a no HQ army list using formations since 7th edition did away with the FOC and replaced it with detachments.

  • Drew_Da_Destroya

    I feel like this is a specific Harlequin Detachment, as opposed to how the codex can operate in a CAD

  • Me

    A lot of the conversation in this thread is apparently being based on assumptions. True, no other non HQ force has OS, but we don’t know if this one (or another Harley formation) has it or not. At least I have not seen the formation benefits,and I could not find them on this page.

    I will be playing them, but I don’t care one way or another. If I did care though, I would probably wait for the actual rules to come out somewhere before I had a melt down. Heck, they could even have a specific rule. allowing them to be taken as an allied detachment. But it is all speculation (unless someone has seen something I have not).