DAEMONKIN – New Khornate Weapons & Summary

KhorneMark

 

Looks like the Khorne Warhound is out of the bag, come see the new weapons the followers of Khorne are getting!

Early this morning blogs started posting pics of the new codex, as people are starting to get their books around the world.

Here’s the unique wargear items and summary form the back of the book.

unnamed (46)

 

unnamed (45)

 

I see a lot of Blood Forged Armor, and Axe of Ruins coming to the table top in the future!

 Chaos Daemonkin Rumor Roundup

CLICK for the latest news and rumors from the book!

  • Orodruin

    BUT HOW MANY BLOODY POINTS DO THEY COST?

    • Hur Hur. Bloody.

      • Orodruin

        Nyuk nyuk nyuk.

  • Shiwan8

    Well. Now. Someone needs a new camera.

    • Matt

      I knew we could count on you! I say half-full, I can read most of it.

      • Shiwan8

        Yeah. Good enough. Just not good.

  • Badtucker

    axe of khorne new specialist weapon… heavy points i hear… but wow what a weapon. ( as its a specialist weapon now. )

    • Iago Lopez Ferreiro

      Also, on a daemon prince (ignoring unwieldly) can just go bananers at any moment (s10 instant death ton ‘o attacks, all of them, no longer need to smash to double strenght)

  • McGibs

    So, the axe that makes the bearer a bloodthirster when they die…
    The thirster is summoned, so it deepstrikes in. Because it deepstrikes, it must be swooping. The turn after that, it can switch to gliding. The turn after that, it can charge. So it takes 3 turns to get into action. All the while, taking d3 wounds a turn.

    Does anyone over there read their own rules anymore?

    • MrTish

      Must it be swooping?

      • jonathon

        per the BRB rules it arrives swooping, but as mentioned above the text refers to pg111, which is presumably of this codex, so there may be special rules applicable to the summoning of khorney bits

        • MrTish

          Fingers crossed

    • Darkjedi

      I took it to be almost instantly available.

      Enemy turn: Your Character dies – Replace it with a Bloodthirster.
      Next Friendly turn: Bloodthirster is free to charge…

      • Moke

        The BRB says that if an FMC arrives via deep strike it must arrive as if it’s swooping. That said, the “summoning” element of the bloodthirster summon refers to page 111 of the dex so it may be different.

        • Drew_Da_Destroya

          Do summoned FMCs count as deep striking? It doesn’t seem to indicate that it’s a deep strike, since it appears within 6″, instead of scattering or arriving from reserves like a deep strike normally does.

          How does the Daemonology Power treat this? The one that summons a Greater Daemon? Since 2 of the 4 are FMCs (Bloodthirster and Keeper). Do they Deep Strike in?

          • MrTish

            The Daemonology power is Conjuration so arrives via Deep Strike. Looks like what McGibs said will be the case unless the summoning rules are different in the codex

          • Drew_Da_Destroya

            Ok. I haven’t played with or against anyone using that power yet (although I’m planning to run a Stormboyz of Khorne list with some daemon summoning at some point), so I appreciate the clarification.

            Also, ugh, poor summoned Bloodthirsters.

          • MrTish

            Should be fine, just make sure the wielder is deployed all on his lonesome and gets vaporized turn 1…….. 🙁

    • J Mad

      Well we will see.

      • MrTish

        It has to swoop the turn it arrives and wouldn’t be able to change modes until next turn, then be able to assault the turn after that.

        • Shiwan8

          Yes but this would mean that it is 100% useless 100% of the time. A good gamer will not let the lord die fast enough so that it could assault as a thirster.

          • MrTish

            Don’t tell me I didn’t write it

    • Armin Karame

      the axe rules say that the blood thirster is summoned within 6″ before the axe bearer is removed as a casualty. Does this mean for example if its the enemy shooting phase, and they still have some shooting attacks left, that they could shoot at the newly summoned Blood thirster?

      • MrTish

        That seems to be the case, though at least its flying

    • Orodruin

      Scout him as close as possible with a unit of 5 Flesh Hounds. Just the axe, no other gear. Put him at the front of the pack if you go second, break him off on his own if you go first.

    • TerrorCraft Official

      It does indeed come in as if it were deepstriking. Though, since it happens when the model dies, it is presumably on your opponents turn, and so you can switch to glide when your turn starts, so only 1 turn wasted rather than 2.

      • Oddiun

        Hey, if you lose him in your assault phase, he takes d3 wounds followed by presumably a grounding check. If you fail that and he survives your opponents shooting he can charge next turn!

  • David Leimbach

    So the bloodthirster comes in swooping, then glides, then assaults on the third turn – about right now there is a committee of writers slapping their foreheads in unison. Matt Ward rubs his hands together and chortles from his lair.

    • Bugsculptor

      Or jumps 12″ and charges up to 12″ for a first turn charge if the opponent moves forwards. Or jumps 12″, runs, and jinks anywhere on the table for a 4+ cover save, setting it up for a an easy second turn charge.

      Does everything have to be super foolproof to work? If there are 3-5 bloodthirsters with 5 wounds each jumping at you, you may not have enough firepower to finish them all off even if they’re not swooping at you.

      • Shiwan8

        This is about the summoned thirsters and the axe that brings one on the table when it’s user dies. Neither of these can jump and assault the turn they arrive. This in turn makes the axe, 7p and 8p powers useless since when you actually get those points gathered, it’s turn 4 and the thirster/dp will not do anything before turn 7. The axe is actually worst of them all. The thirster is dead without anyone killing it before it can do anything.

        • Captyn Bob

          It does have the bonus of keeping your warlord alive a bit longer. Which isn’t bad for 60 pts.

          Hit it with the grimoire to keep it alive. If only you could ground yourself somehow.

          • Captyn Bob

            actually your taking wounds, so you might ground yourself haha.

          • Shiwan8

            At the end of YOUR turn. Not the turn it arrives. Meaning it’s easier to kill, not easier to make it useful.

          • Shiwan8

            No it does not and yes it is. It’s 60p for one turn more survivability, maybe.

            Lets see. The guy dies. Thirster is summoned. It scatters, mishaps and dies. OR! It takes 3 wounds, grounds itself taking 4th wound. Gets assaulted and killed by bunch of guardsmen.

            This for 60p.

            I personally do not see anyone using the item.

          • Tim Currey

            3 wounds is the most it could take. Average it out to 2 and he also can save those wounds with his invo. Plus if he gets grounded he is free to charge next turn so it’s not to bad. Lone character gets killed turn 1. Bloodthirster comes in, gets hurt and grounded, turn 2 charges and takes some guys or a tank or something down with him

          • Shiwan8

            Then there is the realistic scenario. Your chaos lord dies. Thirster comes in. Gets 2 wounds and does not get grounded. Next turn gets another 2 wounds and changes flight modes. Next turn dies to either enemy shooting or to overwatch. For this you paid 60p.

            OR!

            It takes 2 wounds. Gets grounded and takes 3rd wound there. Then it’s slain by 2 squads of flashlights pointing at it. Again, 60p for this.

            Just not worth it. Plain and simple.

          • Tim Currey

            Well I be sure to tell you how it goes when I use it

          • Shiwan8

            Your or my anecdotes mean nothing. What I presented before is the statistical average.

        • Tim Currey

          Also summoning won’t be useless. You could summon a prince with no wings for example. He will be free to do whatever

          • Shiwan8

            If the model has wings, the unit has wings. Every prince there is has been built to have wings.

          • Tim Currey

            Have you ever built a daemon prince kit? The wings are an option. I have one that has no wings

          • Shiwan8

            I have 6. I know how it’s built. Still, there is no real reason to build one without wings.

          • Tim Currey

            Well there is now

          • Shiwan8

            Not really. Why would you want to use those tithe points to get something a few bolters will kill?

          • Tim Currey

            Well considering that he would essentially be free, and would distract units from shooting other things why not.

          • Shiwan8

            It’s another recource among others. It’s not free.

        • Bugsculptor

          Ah yeah, I see what’s going on now.

          It’d be funny to cast an old Death Mission farseer versus a summoned, self-destructing and swooping Bloodthirster to see which of them could self destruct sooner before doing anything useful.

          It’s doubly amusing that the swooping bloodthirster could automatically ground itself for an extra wound after taking self inflicted wounds…

          • Shiwan8

            Yep. This all has to be faq’d to such state that it makes sense.

  • Phillip Bloodgod

    Ugh the Elite Slot will be completely ignored, Bloodcrushers are still as fragile as my grandmas favourite cup, Hellbrute as Support is also ridiculous this Slot will be stuffed as Hell.

    I actually don’t see why the Bloodthirster should be swooping.
    It doesen’t even make sense, he breaks out of the axe, so he should be standing (DoW 1 anyone?) if I remember correctly it was the same in the 3rd ed dex.

    • MrTish

      Some articles have said there’s been some points reductions, i’m hoping its Bloodcrushers

      • Matt

        Confusion. Cost of bloodletters is less. Base unit is less than before. BUT…. only 8 models and 10 would still cost the same.

      • Phillip Bloodgod

        Should, still wouldn’t play them.
        Unless every daemon is eternal warrior again.
        Too fragile

    • GMTemplar

      Because we have the rule in writing. See the designer’s note at the bottom.

      • BiscuitsOfWrath

        I feel like there is some great potential in this book for creating an effective assault centric army. The idea that losing units can end up being beneficial is great.

        However with the “Summoning” being clarified I feel like we won’t see anyone summoning bloodthirsters. The fact that they MUST arrive swooping really hinders play.

        I expect most points earned to be spent on army wide FnP.

      • Phillip Bloodgod

        This is so ridiculous.
        What is the point of Summoning and Deepstriking if you have to wait an eternety until you can attack?

        They did in no way counter the ineffectiveness of Meele Armies with this one, oh man.

      • Shiwan8

        I can not find the text that forces flyers to swoop when summoned. It’s not in the errata and my rulebook says nothing other than when a flying monstrous creature enters the board is has to choose if it’s gliding or swooping.

        • GMTemplar

          p.68 under deployment

          • Shiwan8

            Yeah, well, that sucks. This is not coming from reserves though. It deepstrikes, sure, but not from reserves.

          • GMTemplar

            That would be really stretching it since the rules for Deep Strike directly reference the rules for Reserves. Also on p.162 mention the terms “…deep strike (sometimes called deep strike reserve)” as interchangeable.

            I really wish it didn’t suck, but it is what it is.

          • Shiwan8

            There are many items in the game that let units that already are on board to deepstrike. Hell, it does not even mention reserves in the rules there. It is “summoned” (what ever that means in this particular context) within 6″ of the source.

            Anyway, you are probably right, which means that both 7 and 8 point powers are 100% useless. This will also make the axe useless. Typical GW.

          • Captyn Bob

            You don’t have to give the prince wings, at least.

          • Shiwan8

            Yeah but it will not survive the ordeal either just because of that. It’s very easy to kill a prince that does not fly.

          • TerrorCraft Official

            Unfortunately, the rules for FMCs states that they arrive from deepstrike in swooping mode. I had this though initially as well, but had my bubble burst lol.

          • Shiwan8

            Well, like many times before, I’d like to talk to the designer and ask for his reasoning for the things that seem to make no sense.

  • Secundum

    Liking the blade of endless bloodshed!

  • It would appear I lost my “chosen” …. not that I ever ran them…

  • LordKrungharr

    Well, if I could take 8 Heralds of Khorne I might decided to keep my Khorne Daemons, and I would need another 56 FleshHounds. Then I could run the proper number of squads comprised of 8 Hounds and 1 Herald. And 2 units of Nurglings for Troops right?

    • Shiwan8

      No. Too many hound squads.

  • Christ how pointless is the summoning of BT´s then? lol liking the rest of the book alot so far tho.

    • Shiwan8

      This was predictable. It’s CSM, it’s the one power that has no psychics and thus loses one whole phase every turn. Then there is this awesome idea that in the end has a useless actualization of itself.

      I just hope the units can compensate since the fluffy fun part was killed by the rules.

  • Houghten

    The Blood-Forged Armour seems to lose a lot of its potency once you steal it off Grimgor.

  • latro990

    Not sure if its fluffy or not that these guys are Daemonkin but they have access to no daemon weapons!!!!

    • Bugsculptor

      So the axe with the bloodthirster bound into it isn’t a daemon weapon? I think you missed something in reading that… all axes of khorne are daemon weapons.

      • Shiwan8

        I think he meant the ones that are useful, like black mace and axe of khorne.

      • latro990

        does not say daemon on the profile summary?

  • Katharon

    Now why is it that Kharn is missing from that list of HQs?

    • Shiwan8

      GW, logic. Not anywhere near eachother.

  • Djbz

    Bezerkers only having one attack really doesn’t sit right with me. They are bezerkers for goodness sake they should have 2 base.

  • chris conway

    Hey guys, anyone know if axes of khorne can be used with squad champions? Also can terminators use axes of khorne??