40K: New Astra Militarum / Grey Knight FAQ Spotted!

 

Imperial_guard_art

ATTENTION GUARDSMAN! The Commissar orders you to read the new Astra Militarum & Grey Knight FAQ!

via Games Workshop (Warhammer 40,000 Facebook)

Astra Militarum

13920948_1663532673967365_4310921304158501709_n 13938460_1663532697300696_7560178640546706830_n 13886849_1663532670634032_2602288382156124521_n

 

Grey Knights

13938344_1663532667300699_8198779351847914803_n

We have two Codex FAQs for you this week: the might of the Astra Militarum, and the elite daemon-hunting Grey Knights of Titan.

We’d love to get your thoughts on both before they become an offical rules update.

Here’s what you need to do:

– Read through these draft FAQs
– If you think any answers need clarification, post up a comment on the relevant image
– Make sure your question is concisely written, and in plain English

Do the answers all make sense? Are they clear? Do they throw up any more potential issues?

You have a week to get your comments in, then we’ll pass them on to the rules guys for the final FAQs.

We’ll be posting more FAQ drafts for feedback over the new few weeks, so if you’re eagerly awaiting the one for your codex, don’t worry, we’re on it.

Finally, we wanted to say thanks again to all of you who sent in your questions – you’re helping to making the game we all love even better.

 

In short – lots of clarifications on exactly how Chimeras work and fire. We have zooming grav-insertions, and know exactly when Yarrick can be your warlord.  On the Grey Knight side of things, we see a clampdown on cross codex shenanigans – GOOD RIDDANCE!

 

What do you think players – Anything jumping out at you?

 

You can find these and all the other FAQ’s released right here:

Warhammer 40,000 FAQ (2016)

  • Commissar Ahmad

    The FAQ answers the question of adding Priests to IG formations. But what about Commissars?

    • CatachanCommissar

      *blam*

    • Andrew Thomas

      I think they need to add an erratum to the Choosing an Army page of BRB FAQs stating that supernumerary choices cannot be chosen as part of a Formation unless the Datasheet says so.

      • Commissar Ahmad

        I disagree. I think they should change the FAQ to say that you can add Priests and Commissars to infantry formations. They’re kind of rubbish without them.

        • Andrew Thomas

          Just Emperor’s Shield Platoons/Companies, but they kind of struck me as a deliberately bad choice anyway, considering the model count and points cost. Assault Co get the job done just fine and none of the other Infantry formations have this problem because they actually get Commissars.

  • Randy Randalman

    Stopping the cross codex shenanigans has been a theme with these FAQ’s. I do hope we see limits on allies and attaching IC’s to units in the next edition.

  • OldHat

    Just too much trouble to give the Hydra interceptor?! That is its freaking job. Ugh.

    • grim_dork

      They insist on rules that make the Hydra super weak. Makes no sense, it’s not an overpowered unit.

      • Severius_Tolluck

        Yeah it only wounds flyers on an average of 5+ any ways, after having to roll a 4+ (albeit 4 shots with re rolls)

      • OldHat

        Yea, because Guard aren’t allowed to be any good anymore. Wouldn’t want them outshining Spehss Mahreens. :/

        It makes me miss 5th Ed when I think of how decent my Guard used to be. Sigh.

        • Karru

          It’s also partially due to the way people played 5th ed. Guard. People spammed the heck out of Hydras, but now that it is released, GW wants people to buy the new kit AKA the Wyvern. So many Guard players already have Hydras so to justify the purchase they made them almost useless.

  • Horus84cmd

    So many pointless question answered….. it definitely implies either many gamers don’t know how to read English or they are just grasping at straws. Hmmm, maybe it’s both?

    • Karru

      I still believe it is the latter part. Most of the questions in FAQ’s these days are attempts at breaking the game even more. Although, the Leman Russ one was some what good since it was such a kick in the groin for Guard armies. I love to modify my tanks with as many upgrades as possible to make them pop out and look good, but now there is no point in taking Sponsons to most of the variants. I still believe that the nerf was too much for the russes.

    • Alienerd the unbannable

      Don’t forget that the straw-graspers also won’t use these FAQs as they are ‘not yet official’. Yeah, because the cheesy nonsense inside their own heads is more official than an FAQ distributed by GW in any shape or form. My bad!

  • dave long island

    Wait Astra Mili-what now?

    • Djbz

      I was so happy I’d prepared that pic ready for the FAQ.
      Got it straight on there

  • GrumpyOgre

    Chimera’s fire point is the rear hatch? Totally useless. Absolutely no way people will be turning the AV10 rear towards the enemy, I guess if someone manages to get behind you… but seriously, wtf.

    • Nameless

      I am pretty sure it means the hatch on the top of the back half of the Chimera.

      • grim_dork

        We need an FAQ of the FAQ.

    • CatachanCommissar

      I was just about to say; then what the heck are the things on top I’ve been calling doors. I’m sure they mean the top back hatch.

    • Stealthbadger

      Yeah they definitely mean the rear roof hatch. If you honestly get an opponent trying to enforce that they meant the rear access point I’d find another opponent.

    • Karru

      mmmmh…. They mean the hatch between the Lasgun arrays.

  • Stealthbadger

    The IG ones mostly left me astonished. None of these issues even occurred to me because they’re so clear in the codex. This is more just wish listing. E.g. Assault taurox? Erm what, why was this even inferred?

    • Nameless

      there have been a number of popularised open topped semi conversions for the prime. combined with the fact that most players will rarely see them and it can lead to a misunderstanding.

      • Stealthbadger

        But the rule is very very clear. Otherwise I’ll just convert my rhinos to open topped. And give them storm Raven wings so they’re a flyer now. 🙂

        • Nameless

          I am in full agreement, but I have watched a t least two battle reports where the guard player was using power of the machine spirit to fire 2 Manticore rockets a turn. People simply don’t read and see something and make assumptions.

          • Stealthbadger

            I’d never even thought of the manticore thing. What prevents it? I presume it is with an enginseer? The rockets are individual weapons or are they only individual for the purpose of weapon destroyed?

          • Nameless

            the Manticore only has two weapons: its heavy bolter and its storm eagle rockets. power of the machine spirit lets you fire an additional weapon but doesn’t let you fire the same weapon twice (in this case the storm eagle rockets).

          • Stealthbadger

            Makes sense to me.

          • Stealthbadger

            Also seems like a good time to post this.

          • Djbz

            Plus the “Limited Ammunition” special rule specifically prohibits more than one Storm Eagle rocket being fired in one shooting phase

        • euansmith

          On open topped Assault Storm Skull Rhino would nicely round out the Space Marine vehicle range. Like a land based LCM.

  • This Dave

    Why in the name of the Emperor do they insist on gimping Leman Russ tanks? Heavy vehicles should behave similar to smaller Super Heavies and be able to fire all their weapons at full BS, just at the same target.

    • Stealthbadger

      To be fair it only affects two variants and I’ve found the demolisher to be a liability as it gets too close to fire.

      My battle tanks couldn’t hit a hierophant if they ran over it.

      • This Dave

        Yes it’s only two variants. But those two could really use the extra firepower. One bad scatter roll and the tank is useless for a turn.

      • Karru

        Also, I have always seen the Sponsons as an iconic part of the Leman Russ. It just feels naked without them and now that they nerfed it with the removal of Lumbering Behemoth there is no reason to pay the extra cost.

        • Stealthbadger

          Karru and This Dave:- I agree with you both to be honest. 5 out of 7 of mine have sponsons. The two without are because they are BC and a flexible version. The BC version with sponsons and dozers blade is pretty much the only reason I chose guard as my first army. Best looking tank in the game in my view.

          However the FAQ is not the place to look for buffs, really the codex needs a bit of a tweak. Nothing major but a better formation or at least more options that don’t cost so much would be nice too. Plus done review of Ogryns and Bullgryns. If we’re due for new models a large capacity assault transport would be nice…

    • OldHat

      Now be fair here… they don’t just gimp the Russ. They gimp the army as a whole. 😀

  • Shiwan8

    So, what are the highlights?

    • OldHat

      There are four pages… those are the highlights.

      • Shiwan8

        Did you dodge the point or did you just miss it?

        • OldHat

          I think you missed my point, actually. It is 4 pages. Read it yourself?

          • Shiwan8

            Ok. Pick a game you have never played and have no idea on how it works, read the FAQ for it without reading the rules and come here to tell us all in detail how the game works.

            Or try logic instead of what ever the thought process you used thus far. That’ll work too.

          • TeAXIII

            So your saying you’ve never read the 40k rule, that’s what your comment says, why complain about rules for a game you do even know the rules for

          • Shiwan8

            Apparently you can not read too well. That’s ok. If you could, you’d understand that I’m not familiar with AM and thus the FAQ as it is does not mean much to me. But, you can’t and now we are in this situation.

          • TeAXIII

            Nothing you’ve said suggests your unfamiliar with them and that also has nothing to do with you going and reading them yourself, I’m not familiar with tyranids I went and read it myself same with an your just lazy and from what everyone else says an idiot

          • Shiwan8

            You mean you did not get the comparison because understanding what you are reading is not something you are good at. That is fine.

            A few butt hurt people who did not have proof or even an argument backing up their claim and got called for it by me think that I’m an idiot. It is their right to be bitter about it if they wish to be. Apparently you just joined their ranks. It’s ok.

            And to think that all they had to do was to have some proof for their claim beyond “I say so and you are mr. stupidpants if you do not accept my word as the law”. 😀

          • Hawt Dawg

            Neck beards?

          • shiwan

            Not really. Some people just have an adamant belief that what they think about something is a fact and just do not take it well if someone asks for proof and they do not have it.

            It’s a common theme in social media really. People adapt an idea and do not take it well when the idea is challenged and the challenger has a stronger footing in the debate. You can find examples of this in pretty much any discussion about social issues and politics. I hoped that this subculture of ours was free of that but apparently it’s not.

          • Hawt Dawg

            Yeah I know what you meant, but I thought you were someone else (he was banned).

          • shiwan

            I wonder were the others banned, those who were in it just as much. Depending on that we can easily see whether or not the moderators of this site are fair in their judgements. The tactless behavior was not in any way one sided after all.

          • OldHat

            ….what? So you have never played 40k? And have no idea how 40k works? So… why are you on a 40k website?

          • Shiwan8

            The point was that one that has no idea of any of the rules a faction has can not really get anything out of just by reading the FAQ. AM, DE and orcs are pretty unknown sector for me.
            The equivalent of that would be that a person would read a FAQ for something they do not previously know anything about, like a new game for an example. They would understand the words but have no idea of their meaning.

          • OldHat

            Except your example statement was awful, painting a picture of someone who doesn’t know the game in question.

            That being said, if you play 40k, it pays to know other codices. Do some homework. Then these FAQs won’t be mysterious anymore.

          • shiwan

            Well, you have an opinion about it based on how well you got the point. It’s like me saying that a game is bad because I lost…which I’m not saying.

            You are right, it would be a good idea to read all the books. I have no intention of buying them all (because I have no use for maybe 95% of them) and since GW insists that it’s rules cost money to read there really is no way for me to have an access to a codex for this faction.

            What’s wrong with asking?

    • Andrew Thomas

      AM Tanks were so good that they got their ribs separated by a Nerf bat, apparently, and GK have been thoroughly reminded that they are not SM. But at least the Russ-Star still works, just have to skip Demolishers and Vanilla Russes for the other variants, and GK still have to die like supermen, e.g.: with shards of radioactive green rock jammed into their backs.

      • Shiwan8

        Roger that. Thanks.

    • Skathrex

      None, None whatsoever, nothing changed, just clarifications for not so difficult to understand rules.

  • PGConley

    And still no clarification with Vendettas in Death from the Skies…..

    • Andrew Thomas

      Sure there is: they’ve been stealth errata’d out of existence.

  • JP

    I miss Lumbering Behemoth.
    What’s the point of limiting it’s ability to move to only Combat Speed if firing Ordnance forces it to shoot like it moved at Cruising Speed anyway? It’s just a kick in the balls really.

    • Stealthbadger

      To be fair it means all other variants can fire at full BS which is not too shabby. If you want to fire ordnance use a tech priest. No tank list should be without one.

      The more gutting part is losing preferred enemy on re rolling gets hot for executioners…,

      • JP

        I don’t think giving it PotMS from an Enginseer is going to do anything about Ordnance forcing Snap Shots on everything else. At best, it lets you fire one other weapon at full BS, which solves the problem, letting you shoot the hull weapon, I suppose, since there isn’t much point to adding sponsons if they’re forced to Snap Fire all the time.

  • SacTownBrian

    Since inquisition chimeras are different does the AM FAQ apply to them as well?

  • Old zogwort

    The priest one clearly goes against how it is written in the rulebook.

  • Troy Dean

    If half these questions actually came up at the table I’d slap my opponent. I’m a Guard player rolling my eyes at some of these so-called ‘frequently’ asked questions. Should the Taurox Prime have the Assault Vehicle special rule? No, just as you shouldn’t have any more to drink…

    • Admiral Raptor

      I disagree! There should always be more to drink! 😛