40k Architect Robin Cruddace Interview – FTN

Robin Cruddace joins us again to talk about Warhammer 40k 8th edition all how it all started to take shape for Games Workshop.


Robin Cruddace joins us again to talk about Warhammer 40k 8th edition all how it all started to take shape for Games Workshop.  This has been in the works for a LONG time.

Hey hey,

Please forgive the little bit of audio echo in the beginning of the show. We were recording in a wide open area and after a long day of celebrating.

The enthusiasm was very high that weekend at Warhammer World.  When I got there first thing in the morning people were lined up out the door to get their copy of the new game.  The first two Forge World indexes were also on sale that day.  Man… people were going nuts!

Robin and I talk about  the origins of 8th and how he moved the idea along through the company to finally get what we have today – a totally new game that still gives us everything we’ve come to expect from 40k.

It was an amazing time.  I hope you guys caught me on the live stream.  It is still up for viewing on the Warhammer TV facebook page.



Please follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!


FTN mostly focuses on Warhammer 40k, but again you will see in the first few episodes we take a severe deep dive into nerdom. These have been a blast to record and I hope they help pass the time for you.

Alternatively you can subscribe via your own iTunes, and it should update our podcast when we post a new one.

Don’t have iTunes? Use the player below to access the podcast directly, or add our feed to your favorite player.
Podcast Link


Paul Murphy – Host

Justin Troop – troopsmash
Christopher Morgan – captain morgan
Adam Abramowicz – Beyond the Brush Studios
Andrew Whittaker

  • Tyr

    Anyone have a TL:DR? Really hate podcasts, but kind of curious about the contents here… <.<

  • shady

    Anyone have a link to the live stream video mentioned in the article?

  • Tim Sleigh

    Where and how do we ask questions for 40K 8th?
    eg, if I roll a 1 for a to hit roll, but have a +1 modifier, and normally hit on a 2+, does the attack hit or miss?

    • eMtoN

      It misses. Per the rule book and designers commentary.

    • Darkjedi

      Quoted from the Core Rules; “A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply…”.

    • Munn

      Wasting time on questions spelled out plainly in the rules when there are actual amiguities smh.

      • Spacefrisian

        Yup, it rarely happens but that was a dumb question.

  • UnpluggedBeta

    I really wish they put out a transcript so I didn’t have to waste time listening.