40K: Astra Militarum Order Rundown

The Astra Militarum have a total of 15  orders now thanks to their core 7 and the Regimental Order – let’s take a brief look at each one!

With all the shiney new Astra Militarum rules out there, it’s easy to get mixed up on who does what. There can be a lot of confusion out there on the tabletop when you show up to play with or against the Astra Militarum. One of the new areas of confusion will be the different orders that the Astra Militarum have access to – so we wanted to clarify what they do and who gets to use them with a brief primer.

The Voice of Command

It all starts with the Voice of Command rule. This hasn’t changed from the Index to the Codex. But just remember, both the issuing unit and the receiving unit have to be from the same REGIMENT for the order to take effect.

Basic Orders

These are the basic orders for the Astra Militarum – they haven’t changed from Index to Codex with the exception of additional flavor text in the codex. Remember – these orders all take place at the start of the SHOOTING phase. To me, that means before units start actually shooting and resolving the standard shooting parts of the phase. Ideally, players should be issuing all these Orders first and then they work their way around the table shooting. With the exception of Fix Bayonets! and Move! Move! Move! that means the player shouldn’t start rolling attacks until all Orders are issued. So yes – Astra Militarum players have to plan out there shooting attacks before they start to roll the results of those attacks.

Regimental Orders

On key note about the Regimental Orders – there are Orders that can are listed as Tank Orders. These specific Orders can only be given by Tank Commander of the appropriate regiment. Also, these Orders can not be mixed across regiments – Only Catachans can use Chatachan Orders. and so on.  (We’re also slightly paraphrasing these rules – this is an overview, not a word-for-word translation.)

Cadian (Tank Order)Pound Them to Dust! – For the duration of the phase you can re-roll the dice when determining the number of attacks the ordered model can make with turret weapons that use a random number (e.g. Heavy D6).

Catachan Burn Them Out! You can re-roll the dice when determining the random number of attacks for Flamers and Heavy Flamers until the end of the phase. Additionally, targeted units do not gain the benefits for being in cover from these attacks.

Valhallan Fire on My Command!

VostroyanRepel the Enemy! – Until the end of the phase, the ordered unit can fire it’s weapons while within 1″ of the enemy. They must target enemy units within 1″.

ArmageddonMount Up!

Tallarn (Tank Order)Get Around Behind Them! – The ordered model can move up to 6″ in this phase, either before or after it shoots, as it if were the Movement phase, This does not affect how far the vehicle has moved for the purposes of determining how many times it can fire it’s turret weapon.

Militarum TempestusElimination Protocol Sanctioned! – Re-roll failed wound rolls for this unit when attacking enemy Vehicles or Monsters this phase.

MordianForm Firing Squad!

 

Some of these Orders seem a little redundant (Repel the Enemy! and Get Back in the Fight!). Some these Orders open up a whole world of possibilities for play styles (Get Around Behind Them! is amazing). When you factor in Warlord Traits, Stratagems, and Regimental Doctrines the Astra Militarum become a well oiled Imperial Pain Machine.

Codex: Astra Militarum Battle Hardened Collection

 

 

So what do you think of the Orders for the Astra Militarum?

  • It’s worth noting that the Cadian Doctrine changes “Take Aim” to re-roll all failed hit rolls for the unit if it didn’t move in the previous movement phase.

  • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

    Pask got better, now that he’s locked to Superior Tactical Training, rather than the horribly nerfed Old Grudges. The Cadian order is good for any Russ that isn’t running all direct-fire weapons.

    • adamharry

      remember – the Cadian order only applies to the Turret weapon and not the hull mounted/sponsons.

      • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

        KO

  • I_am_Alpharius

    I disagree, that you have to issue all your orders at the start of the shooting phase for all units. The wording on the Voice of Command ability seem quiet carefully worded:

    “This unit may issue one order per turn to the soldiers under their command at the start of their Shooting phase………”

    The crucial word here is “their”. The use of this determiner associate the rule with the model that uses it. Since the rules for shooting follow a strict order of operation. The first operation being “1. Choose unit to shoot with”. Then the start of that models shooting phase is at the point you pick them. Hence, the order of operation for that units shooting becomes:
    1. Choose unit to shoot with
    1a. If that unit is an officer with the you then use their Voice of command ability.
    2. Choose targets
    3. Choose ranged weapon
    4. Resolve attacks

    So, here you would any issues orders you want with that one unit and then complete shooting with that unit. Of course that means you could go through every Officer unit, with Voice of command, issue an order and resolve their shooting, and then move on to units you’ve issued orders to.

    Alternatively, you could and issues orders you want with that one unit and then complete shooting with that unit. The you could move the unit you issued the order too and resolve their shooting.

    Therefore as event/shooting is resolved you can pick the most suitable order based on what has happened elsewhere on the battle field.

    • Heinz Fiction

      Or maybe it’s the start of the shooting phase of “the soldiers under their command”?

      • I_am_Alpharius

        Naaaa. The Voice of Command starts with the phrase “This unit”. Making it clear the rule is talking about the model with the rule and not anything else.

    • adamharry

      You’re arguing that each unit has their own shooting phase.

      That’s just wrong.

      If that’s the case then orders never take effect because they end at the end of THEIR phase.

      By your own logic, if a commander orders a unit to take aim, it lasts until the end of that commander’s shooting phase which is done after that model completes your order of operations:

      1. Choose unit to shoot with

      1a. If that unit is an officer, or has an officer in it, then first use their Voice of command ability.

      2. Choose targets

      3. Choose ranged weapon

      4. Resolve attacks

      5. Phase ends, unit’s order ends.

      • I_am_Alpharius

        NO. All the commands are worded for the units they are placed on. Once the officer has issued the order it doesn’t just stop because that units finished with its shooting.

        “3. Shooting phase: Your units may shoot enemy units.”

        “After all of the unit’s models have fired, you can choose another unit to shoot with, until all eligible units that you want to shoot with have done so.”

        The shooting PHASE does not end until every unit you want to shoot has shot. So no they don’t end.

        • John Henry III

          Individual units do not have their own shooting phase. so if an order has to be issued at the start of their shooting phase then its at the start of THE shooting phase.

          The *their* is there to prevent rules lawyers from trying to issue orders during your opponents shooting phase.

        • Randy Randalman

          Your long-winded explanations are a huge waste, because individual units do not have their own phases. The phase belongs to the player. You are just wrong. No matter how cleverly you try to break the words down, you’re just wrong. It isn’t vague and doesn’t need an FAQ. Stop being that guy.

          • LankTank

            You stop being that guy. I mean I agree, all orders need to be done prior to other shooting but its a valid point and not a complete spin of the rule like others that have been shared in the past. Additionally where you resorted to being a sack in your comment, Alpharius was just trying to be clear using specifics on how they interpreted it. Again I dont agree with his interpretation but at least they had composure unlike you

          • I_am_Alpharius

            Thanks for a reasonable response 🙂

            If find it a little weird that @adamharry:disqus actually contradicts his premise that all orders should be done at the start of the shooting phase, by saying there are two exceptions. You can’t have it both ways. If all orders need to be done first then that means all, not four and two that don’t:

            “…. that means before units start actually shooting and resolving the standard shooting parts of the phase. Ideally, players should be issuing all these Orders first and then they work their way around the table shooting. With the exception of Fix Bayonets! and Move! Move! Move! that means the player shouldn’t start rolling attacks until all Orders are issued.”

          • LankTank

            Yes that doesn’t help the issue =) as all orders are done at the beginning of the shooting phase that woukd include move move move and affix bayonets. Not ommit them. As I see it all models start their shooting phase, the word their to identify the player whose turn it is. All orders are given and the wording of each order states when it has to be actioned. This will usually be when you select that unit to continue its action during that phase. However bayonets and move move move states immediately, interupting the order process. Maybe this is what he was trying to mention?

          • I_am_Alpharius

            Maybe.

  • Mr.Gold

    Imperium players take a patrol detachment of guard (commander/commissiar + 20 conscripts ish) to then be allowed to access their stratagems (per a recent FAQ – Death Guard Codex V1.0) then use “Take Cover” and other similar stratagems on all your important units as it doesn’t require any keywords… (also the conscripts will provide a nice bubble wrap). also I believe there is a relic for Guard Officers to allow you roll 5+ each time your opponant uses a command point to regain 1CP. also the “Take Cover” stratagem just states Saving Throws – where is that unit of (… insert unit here…) with a 3++ etc. or similar.

    • Drew_Da_Destroya

      Doesn’t your entire army have to share at least one keyword, though?

      • Mr.Gold

        Yes but that can be “Imperium”

        • Drew_Da_Destroya

          For some reason I thought you were taking Death Guard units alongside the Guard. I misread what you were saying.