40K: New FAQs for Death Guard & Ad-Mech

  • Posted by
  • at

New FAQs, errata, clarifications and more for Death Guard, Ad-Mech, and Imperial Knights.

That’s right folks, a whole crop o’ farm-fresh FAQs for ya. Dig in. First up, we’ve got the Death Guard FAQs, where I’ve got good news for those of you who were arguing that a unit of Poxwalkers couldn’t go up above it’s starting strength.

You’re objectively wrong.

And that’s not something people have to endure very often. Builds character and all that. For the rest of you, there’s updated rules for the Thermal Cannon across the indexes. And another important clarification–you can use stratagems you have access to across detachments from different codexes, as long as you’ve got a valid target.

This has the side effect of making the Imperium keyword that much more powerful–same with Astartes. Be on the lookout for interesting Stratagem Combos now that that gate’s definitely open.

Then over in robotland, the rules are basically machine-perfect, so not much in this update. Though they do correct the Dunecrawler’s health track, and clarify how mixed Martian and [other Forge World] units interact when singing the Canticles of the Omnissiah.

You can check out the full updates below.

Adeptus Mechanics FAQs 

Death Guard FAQs

Time to break out the infinite poxwalker army.

  • Gunther Clone C

    I feel the stratagem ruling puts Xenos at a HUGE disadvantage. Imperium and Chaos have major benefits of “allying” and xenos like Orks and Nids are kind of left with what they have…that’s just me complaining though. Maybe we’ll get some amazing stratagems to make up for it.

    • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

      But, mixing Septs/Craftworlds/Kabals/Cults/Covens/Klans/Hive Fleets/etc.

    • Watcherzero

      You can mix Elven armies and Chaos armies and Tyranid can take nearly any Astra Militarum units as genestealer cultists.

      • Gunther Clone C

        But…but Orkses? T^T

        • Watcherzero

          Used to be able to loot enemy vehicles, perhaps they will get that back.

          • Gunther Clone C

            Looted Imp Knight please.
            .

          • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

            Watch as DeffSkullz get expanded Alliance rules, a la Genestealer Cults, as their Klan Trait, with the caveats that the units borrowed drop to BS 5+, and get ‘Ere We Go and Mob Rule, and Vehicles get Ramshackle.

    • I_am_Alpharius

      Its not that horrendous. An awful lot of stratagems have very specific conditions beyond a single army keyword i.e. Imperium or Chaos Space Marine.

      • Spacefrisian

        So Fallen Angels can pick, they have both. And wait till you see there options, 4 may pick melee or heavy or special weapons, 1 other may pick a special or heavy weapon and than there is the sergeant.

        • I_am_Alpharius

          Trying to see your point?

          Fallen don’t have the Heretic Astartes or the Adeptus Astartes keyword. Pretty much all the CSM and SM stratagems restrict to those keywords and not the Imperium or Chaos keyword. There are very few stratagems, or abilities for that matter, that they could take advantage of.

    • Spacefrisian

      Wait till they discover 5 plasmas and combi plasma on fallen angels that also happen to have both the chaos and imperium keyword, and with Cypher as warlord you can deny points when he might get killed.

      • Simon Bates

        Right, but have you come across a single strategem which applies to “any (Infantry) unit with the Imperium/Chaos Keyword”?

        • Spacefrisian

          Not yet, but thats another problem.

  • Heinz Fiction

    These can be summed up as “yes the rules really do what they say they do.”

  • Stephen Henry IV

    Wish the Plagueburst gauntle on the Deathshroud was changed to be either cheaper or have and AP of -2. As it stands the 1k sons have a warpflame pistol that is cheaper and better. Just a small thing, but still. Glad for the clarification on the DP’s wings.

  • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

    Guess the Chief is walking. Oh well.

  • Watcherzero

    They seem to be clarifying that abilities that resurrect a unit (or in the case of Poxwalker resurrect an enemy) don’t count against your reinforcement pool points.

    • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

      No, they made it clear in the Matched Play rules that unless the new model is replacing an existing model on a 1 for 1 basis, or the rule says otherwise, it costs RP.

      • Watcherzero

        Except they’ve just added that you can summon more poxwalkers than you started with and use reinforcement summoning strategems without RP.

        • 301stFeinminsterArmoured

          It’s still 1 for 1, because another model had to die first, usually in combat with Poxwalkers or within 7″ for a CP. Compared to Tervigons, Daemons in general, and Horrors in particular, this ability is hard enough to pull off by itself that not charging for it isn’t unbalanced.

        • its RAW. If it’s not creating a new unit it doesn’t cost reinforcement points. Horrors specifically say in their rules you have to pay for Blue horrors and brimstones.

      • I_am_Alpharius

        @Watcherzero:disqus would be correct. The FAQ explicitly says no to costing RP.

        “…increases the unit above its starting strength, does this cost reinforcement points?
        A: No

        It would be impractical to know how many points to save for resurrected/absorbed models. As you don’t really know how many models will fall into the range of the ‘Curse of the Walking Pox’ ability.

        The rule on reinforcement points is when you are creating an entirely new unit and clarifies that a rule may say otherwise. Which again in this case is implicit in the rule. The added models are not a new unit!

        “Q: If a rule creates a new unit during the battle in a matched play game and adds them to my army, must I pay for the unit with my reinforcement points?
        A: Yes (unless the rule itself says otherwise). If you don’t have enough reinforcement points, you cannot add that unit to your army”.

  • I_am_Alpharius

    “Q: Are the Biologus Putrifier’s hyper blight grenades affected by
    his Blight Racks ability?
    A: No.”

    Shock…Whoda thunk it…eh?

    As ever, more dumb questions for rules that are clear in the first place. Continues to show now matter how careful rules are worded people will still question thing; either because, they see said rule as too good or too rubbish.

  • Huntard

    The snide comments at the beginning towards people that legitimately had concern if something worked was kind of unnecessary.

  • Dragonruler7

    Waiting for my “Can Genestealer Cult Brood Brothers have Regiment rules?” I would hope the answer is yes and current rules don’t seem to disallow it at all. Before there were actual rules for the regiments technically you still chose a regiment for a AM detachment

    • I_am_Alpharius

      GW have said, on the twitch stream, that next weekend, when the AM codex is physically out, there will a couple of pdf’s clarifying all that stuff.

    • LankTank

      In all honesty I woukd say it will get rempved once the GC codex drops. The brotherhood will state they change its keyword. But that means either a) youll get to use GC buffs on them, or b) it wont change so you will be able too =)

      • Spacefrisian

        Gc should just be part of the Nids dex.

        • I_am_Alpharius

          Won’t surprise me if they are. Consider; the Ad-Mech have had Knights thrown in; AM have had Tempestus bundled in; Eldar are going to have all the various craftworlds in. So its not a large leap to have GsC in the Nid book.

        • memitchell

          I so want to scold you for saying that, but I can’t help but think it’s the cheapest option. I don’t want to buy three codices (GSC, AM, and ‘nids) to play the Cult.

          • Spacefrisian

            I read similar replies when i state the same about different marine chapters/legions.

  • Simon Bates

    Honestly, I’m surprised they’ve said you have to take allies from the CSM codex to use CSM strategems on Death Guard. Nothing in the Codex says anything about the strategems being limited to units from “this book”, but rather it limits the keywords that a unit has to have in order to be eligible. It seemed to me a logical extension of the keyword system that you could use strategems on any unit that met the keyword criteria.

    What we have here says that you can only use strategems from the codexes from which you’ve selected your army (intuitive, but I don’t think it’s been explicitly stated before), but that when using them you are only limited by the actual wording of the strategem.

    The downside of this, it seems to me, is that it gives another incentive to take allies. Also, do you lose the ability to use (using the example given) CSM codex strategies when all of your Alpha Legion models are dead?