Jwolf here, slaving away at the FAQs and House Rules for BoLSCon 2009. The first and most obvious area I needed to focus on is the new Imperial Guard Codex. Here’s what I have at this point:
Q: If an officer is part of a unit that receives an order, can he issue an order later in the same phase?
A: Generally no, as other than “Get Back in the Fight” all orders require the officer to take an action which prevents him from giving orders afterwards.
Q: Can you issue orders in your opponent’s Shooting phase?
A: No, you may only issue orders in your own Shooting phase.
Q: Can First Rank, FIRE! Second Rank, FIRE! be used on hot-shot lasguns?
Q: Does the d6″ move from Al’Rahem’s Like the Wind prevent the unit from assaulting in the Assault phase?
A: No. If the unit would normally be eligible to assault (i.e., not fired a rapid-fire weapon, etc.) then it can assault normally in the Assault phase.
Q: What happens to an Independent Character that is attached to a conscript unit that is removed using Chenkov’s Send in the Next Wave ability?
A: As long as an Independent Character is attached to the Conscript unit, the Conscript unit may not use the Send in the Next Wave rule.
Q: Do I get +2 on Reserve rolls if I have two Astropaths? Do I get to re-roll the dice used to determine board edge twice?
A: Yes. No. Two Officers of the Fleet work the same way (i.e., -2 to to your opponent’s reserve roll, but only one re-roll for board edge for arriving units).
Q: If I have a Master of the Ordnance and a Mortar in my Command Squad, do they follow the Multiple Barrage Rules?
A: No, the Master of the Ordnance fires a single Ordnance Barrage shot in all cases, targeted at the same unit as the rest of the Command Squad.
Q: If I have only one Bodyguard left, can I still apply two wounds to the Bodyguard that would be allocated to the Company Commander? When does Look Out – Arrgh! happen?
A: Yes. You may only apply two wounds that would’ve been allocated to your Company Commander to Bodyguards, regardless of the number of Bodyguards you have in the unit. Look Out – Arrgh! happens after wound allocation, which means wounds allocated to the Commander by the opponent (i.e. Vindicare shots) can be applied to the Bodyguard.
Q: Can Rough Riders charging into close combat using Hunting Lances further benefit from Furious Charge (making their Strength and Initiative 6)?
Q: Is Weaken Resolve a psychic shooting attack? Does it require line of sight? Can a Psyker Battle Squad shoot their laspistols on the same turn they use Weaken Resolve?
A: No. Yes. Subject to the normal rules for shooting, the squad can fire its laspistols at any target in range, not only the unit it used the Weaken Resolve power on.
Q: Must the whole template of a Hellhound’s Inferno Cannon be placed in LOS? How do you determine the armor facing hit by an Infero Cannon?
A: No, only the initial point must be in LOS; the rest of the template must follow the Template rules as closely as it can without placing the smaller end further than the larger end of the template. The armor facing is determined by drawing a line from the turret to the target, ignoring the template placement.
Q: Do the other weapons on a Hydra Flak Tank benefit from the tank’s Auto-Targeting System (e.g., hull-mounted heavy bolter, pintle mounted heavy stubber, hunter-killer missile, etc.).
Q: What happens when a mixed Ordnance Battery fires?
A: First, announce which Artillery pieces will fire directly and which will fire Barrage. If more than one piece is firing Barrage, the closest piece to the target fires first, if the target is in range. Measure the range to the target from each other piece firing Barrage before scattering the template for the first shot; only those in range may fire. After determining hits and wounds from the Barrage, determine hits and wounds from any pieces firing directly. Once all wounds have been determined, resolve the wounds and vehicle damage.
Q: Can a Techpriest Enginseer repair a Weapon Destroyed result on a Deathstrike Missile Launcher?
A: Yes, a successful Weapon Destroyed repair on a Deathstrike Missile Launcher eliminates a -1 to the “T-Minus five minutes to launch…and counting” roll caused by a single Weapon Destroyed result. This takes effect on the following shooting phase, as the damage was existing at the start of the current shooting phase.
Q: Can I use my Valkyrie or Vendetta without a flying base?
A: No. Any Valkyrie or Vendetta must be mounted on a flying base similar in height to the one supplied in the current Games Workshop plastic kit, and have a base no smaller than the one supplied in the current Games Workshop plastic kit.
Q: Does a Vendetta have the same transport capacity (and restrictions), fire points and access points as a Valkyrie Assault Carrier?
Q: What do I measure from when firing at, disembarking from, or passing near a Valkyrie and Vendetta?
A: For the purposes of armor facing, disembarking, and the 1″ rule, only count the hull of the vehicle — ignore the tail and wings. For determining range to the model, use the model as normal. Ignore the height of the model when embarking or disembarking; models get in and out of Valkyries and Vendettas at the height of the base.
Q: How do I assault a Valkyrie?
A: Move into contact with the base of the model. Moving under the model to reach the base is fine.
Q: If Commissar Yarrick is “placed on his side” does the Inspirational Hero rule still work?
Q: When Commissar Yarrick stands back up due to “Iron Will” and would be in base contact with an enemy model, the rules say I can place him so that he is more than 1″ from an enemy model. Does this mean I can place him anwhere that is more than 1″ from an enemy model?
A: No, you must place him as close to where he fell down as possible such that he is more than 1″ from an enemy model.
Q: When Al’Rahem’s Infantry Platoon outflanks, how do they enter play?
A: When the single roll for the Platoon indicates they enter play, each unit within the Platoon rolls individually to determine upon which board edge they outflank.
Q: Do wounds inflicted by Nork Deddog’s Heroic Sacrifice count toward combat resolution?
Q: What happens if Nork Deddog is killed by No Retreat! wounds?
A: Nork inflicts Heroic Sacrifice wounds on one unit he could have attacked during normal combat resolution.
~As you can see, not all of my items are covered under the rules, but all of them relate to questions of the rules or playability issues we have experienced with the new Codex. If you have more Imperial Guard questions or issues, I’d be glad to hear what they are, and will consider them for the FAQ and House Rules.