So the new Space Wolves codex is not even out, and there is yet another tempest in a teapot brewing. Behold the wording of this rule:
“The Leaders of the Pack
In a Space Wolves army, each HQ ‘slot’ allows you to take up two HQ choices. This means in a standard mission a Space Wolves army may take one, two, three or even four HQ choices…
…packs of Space Wolves work best when led by a single dominant personality, each hero respected for his own abilities. To represent this, no two characters may bear the same saga, nor may they bear the same psychic powers or wargear combination.”
So Phil Kelly has felt the need for a specific rule to limit character spamming with the possibility of 4 HQs on the tabletop. The problem is that last line. What does it mean or allow?
Could you have 4 Rune-priests each with psychic power “A”, but each with a different secondary power (so they each have a different combination of powers), or do you think that means no duplication of powers whatsoever. It does so happen that there are exactly 8 powers, enough to allow for 4 completely divergent Rune-priests. Would the selection of Njal, make it impossible to take any other Rune-priests?
How does wargear factor into this? Do you evaluate each of the conditions seperately (sagas,powers, wargear) or only in concert?
~You can bet this question will come up right away, and I’m scratching my head on this one. My instincts say to rule this as restrictively as possible to prevent list spamming which seems to be the original purpose of the rule in the first place. What say you?