The Dungeonmaster is back! – WotC answers a bunch of rules questions to keep your D&D adventures rolling along.
This month’s installment covers:
- Class Features and Multiclassing
- Magic Items
Here’s just a handful of samples to get you going:
Do you gain proficiency in more saving throws when multiclassing?
A class offers various starting proficiencies that you get if it is your first class. If the class isn’t your first, you get only the starting proficiencies listed for that class in the Multiclassing Proficiencies table (PH, 164). No saving throw proficiencies are included in that table.
Regardless of whether a class is your first, you do gain any proficiencies that the class grants through its features. For instance, if you gain a level in cleric and choose the War Domain, you do benefit from the Bonus Proficiencies feature, even if cleric isn’t your first class.
Can you move through a prone enemy?
The prone condition doesn’t override the rule that prevents you from moving through an enemy’s space, unless that enemy is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. If you do move through another creature’s space—whether a friend or an enemy—the space is difficult terrain for you, and you can’t willingly end your move there. See the Player’s Handbook, page 190–92, for more on movement in combat.
Would an elf get a saving throw versus a philter of love as it’s a charm? The description implies there is no save.
There is no save against the philter of love. The love is just that strong.
Read the entire Q&A Here: