Hey there, Phat J here to talk about the latest 40k FAQ’s to be released by Games Workshop, the Astra Militarum and Grey Knights.
Sit back and kick off them socks, we have four pages of thunder to review!
As with most of the recent 40k FAQ’s released by Games Workshop, the latest two are a mix of common sense and occasional rules clarifications. Unlike most of the previous releases the Astra Militarum and Grey Knight FAQ’s seem to be filled with questions asked by people who seem to have not read the codices at all.
Here are some of the stand out questions and answers.
Q: Is the Taurox Prime meant to be an assault vehicle? A: NO
Why would anyone assume the Taurox Prime is an assault vehicle? I’ve read the description of it several times and not in one single place can I find anything that would cause this confusion.
Q: Should the Hydra have the Intercept rule? A: NO
This one seems like some guy bought the Astra Militarum codex, read the stats on the Hydra, thought ‘this thing kinda stinks, but if it had Interceptor it would be better’ and then worked it out in his head that GW must have certainly meant for the Hydra to have the Interceptor rule despite it not having that rule at all. I understand it has Skyfire but Skyfire and Interceptor are not the same thing.
Q: Can you add Ministorum Priests, Primaris Psykers, and Enginseers to Formations? A: NO
This one isn’t as dumb as you might suspect. I understand that a Formation will tell you exactly what to take but the advisors in the Astra Militarum codex are unique in that you add them to units without them being added to the force organization chart. I could see how that would be confusing to some people.
Q: Does and Infantry Platoon count as a single unit for the purposes of issuing orders? A: NO
I can see someone trying this in a game and instantly being labeled TFG for life. Why anyone would think that an Infantry Platoon would could as a single unit for an order is beyond me. Wish-full thinking.
Q: Can a Grey Knights unit use the Aegis special rule to re-roll ones when making a Deny the Witch role against psychic powers that did not target their unit? A : NO
This is one of those questions that came from a 12 year old who hasn’t read the rulebook yet. Why did this warrant an FAQ? It’s the Deny the Witch rules, dumb dumb!
Q: Do Grey Knights have access to Space Marine Relics? A: NO
Again, this was a question from someone who just KNEW that there had to be a better way to play Grey Knights. He read through the codex several times, painstakingly trying to create a list that could compete in 7th edition 40k. Then it came to him! Why not just give the Grey Knight characters Space Marine relics! Technically they are Space Marines, after all. Too bad the Grey Knight FAQ added up to a single page with 4 questions, BRUH.
So there you have it. The whole combined four pages of FAQ’s for these two codices really make me think the guys tasked with writing these went out for a single drink the night before this was due and ended up getting turnt up to the max. As a former college student I know a hungover rush job when I see one.
What do you think? What are some of the missed opportunities the FAQ team didn’t address from the two codices?
As always, share your thoughts in the comments section! And remember, Frontline Gaming sells Games Workshop product at up to 25% off, every day.