40K: Drukhari Stratagems – Tricks From Commorragh
The Drukhari are the next codex to get a release from Games Workshop and we’ve seen previews all week long. Today, GW is showing off Five more stratagems that will leave your opponents shaking in their boots.
“We’ve covered just some of the Stratagems in the new Drukhari codex, but there are a few more we thought deserved some special attention.
We finally managed to winnow down our favourites to five:”
Crucible of Malediction
Worried about facing a horde of psychic nasties? Well hopefully this stratagem can help thin them out. On a 4+, enemy psyker units within 12″ of a chosen Haemonculus take D3 mortal wounds. Now, it does cost 2CP and it’s only once per battle. The Drukhari do have ways to get back CPs as we’ve talked about before. Those D3 mortal wounds could be the last nail in the coffin for a big psyker, or they could help soften up a few psykers at once. Too bad it’s “only” on a 4+.
Your Archon has been hitting the gym and juicing up on souls – why not get the benefit with the Soul-Trap stratagem. +1 attack, strength, leadership for the small price of 1 CP (after killing a character in the fight phase) isn’t a bad deal!
Any ability that allows you to manipulate your opponent’s chance to hit by reducing their hit rolls by 1 is a good ability. The down side is that this one does cost 2CP. But it does work in either the shooting or fight phase and lasts the remainder of that phase. Remember, that can also be used to deny abilities that trigger on a 6+ as well…
Agents of Vect
Uh…WOW. This is very similar to the proposed Counter-Tactic stratagem that our own Stable Abe proposed. It’s by no means exactly the same but the idea is similar. It involves a dice roll, it can completely shut down a stratagem, and there is a chance it could fizzle. It’s pricier than we were hoping but at least it’s SOMETHING to use vs stratagems. Basically, it’s a good start!
Also…is Vect back or…??? Moving on.
So Incubi are not going to get to benefit from Drukhari Obsessions according to GW.
“As free agents of Commorragh, Incubi are free to fight with who they choose, and while they don’t benefit from Drukhari Obsessions, you’ll also be able to take them in your lists without having to worry about losing yours.”
Bummer. However, they do get a nifty stratagem. Unmodified hit rolls of 6 generate 2 hits instead of 1. Strangely enough, this does seem to contradict powers that cause a -1 to hit, at the same time, if you have a +1 to hit, those 5s don’t suddenly cause 2 hits either. It’s only 1 CP however – not a bad deal.
Not a new model update, but a rules tweak! Being an Incubi he would benefit from the above stratagem. And as a bit of icing on this cake of pain, GW has updated his Murderous Assault rule as well:
Time to make with the stabbin’ Red!
What do you think of these 5 newly revealed stratagems? Which one is your favorite to date?