MTG: New Capenna Brings Comprehensive Rules Changes
The Streets of New Capenna bring some comprehensive rules changes with them. Here’s a look at the new and updated rules.
With the release of Streets of New Capenna, comes a swath of new rules changes for Magic: the Gathering. New Capenna, new rules and all that. But what changes come specifically? How will it affect you? Let’s take a look!
New Capenna’s Comprehensive Rules Changes
First up, and perhaps the best change in the game, the New Subtype recognized with the set: Raccoon. Finally, Squirrel Dealer gets its day in the sun.
But in addition to that, new rules accompany the keyword actions. Blitz, casualty, connive, friends forever, and shield counter all get keyword rules. Let’s take a look.
Keyword – Connive
If a creature is instructed to connive, its controller draws a card, then discards a card. If a nonland permanent is discarded this way, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the conniving permanent.
Keyword – Casualty
Casualty N means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice a creature with power N or greater,” and “When you cast this spell, if a casualty cost was paid for it, copy it. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for the copy.”
Keyword – Blitz
Blitz represents two static abilities that function while the card with blitz is on the stack and a static ability that functions while the object with blitz is on the battlefield. “Blitz [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost,” “If this spell’s blitz cost was paid, sacrifice the permanent this spell becomes at the beginning of the next end step,” and “As long as this permanent’s blitz cost was paid, it has haste and ‘When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw a card.'”
Keyword – Shield Counters
This new rule in the section about counters explains the replacement effects that affect permanents with one or more shield counters. Specifically, these are “If this permanent would be destroyed as the result of an effect, instead remove a shield counter from it” and “If damage would be dealt to this permanent, prevent that damage and remove a shield counter from it.”
Latest News From BoLS:
- Warhammer 40K: Lady Malys – Rising Archon of Commorragh
- Age of Sigmar: Fangs and Ferns – 3 Reasons You’ll Want ‘Echoes of Doom’
- Warhammer 40K Hot Mess – Bloodthirster of Insensate Rage
- MTG: Battle For Baldur’s Gate Spoilers Look Gorgeous
- Brand-New ‘She-Hulk’ Trailer: Jennifer Walters Legal Comedy Arrives in August