40K: Eldar Psychic Powers Part 2 – Runes of Fate

Gather ’round. The Eldar have cast the Runes of Fate – behold what they have shown us! It’s Part 2 of the Eldar Psychic Powers!

Yesterday we covered the Runes of Battle and what really made the Eldar Powers Unique. Today we’re taking a look at the rest of the Eldar Psychic Powers with the Runes of Fate!

Guide

Guide is back and it does more of the same as previous editions. It grants your target unit a re-roll for your ranged weapons. This is a classic power for a reason folks.

Doom

Oh Doom, you’re my back again! Another classic that pairs perfectly with Guide. Re-roll hits and Re-roll wounds – I mean, it’s the peanut-butter/chocolate combo the Eldar have been doing for how many editions now? I would like to mention that Doom also effects close-combat weapons as well – it lasts until your next Psychic phase! Also, I’m pretty sure both Doom and Guide would ALSO apply during any Overwatch shots…Just sayin.

Fortune

Fortune is back, too! Unfortunately it’s different these days. You no longer re-roll failed armor saves, you instead get a 5+ “Feel No Pain” save that does NOT stack with similar abilities. So this one is a mixed bag and more situational now than it was before. Some units will really benefit from a 5+ FNP save, other…not so much.

Executioner

Executioner is basically an upgraded Smite. The warp charge value is 7 but if it goes off and you happen to kill a model in the target unit, you get an ADDITIONAL D3 wounds. Seems worth it to me – especially in matched play. Get some extra damage and you can still Smite.

Will of Asuryan

The Will of Asuryan is another unit buffing ability. However the target is the Psyker themselves. First off, any friendly Asuryani units within 6″ the auto-pass Morale tests. That seems nice. But you also get +1 to all Deny the Witch Tests you make for the Psyker until your next Psychic phase. That lone Psyker is now the beacon of the Will of Asuryan – and all his buddies know it.

Mind War

Mind War, yet another classic power is back once again to crush your enemies in a battle of WILL! This one targets Characters which is a big deal and as long as you’ve got a leg on on your leadership you have the potential to really do a number on their wounds. Now, I know a lot of folks might see this power and think “well that’s not that useful everyone is about the same leadership” – and yes, that’s a good point. If only the Eldar had ways to lower unit’s Leadership values…

Hemlock Pilot: Requesting permission to buzz the enemy.

 

A Hemlock also has access to Embolden/Horrify which could be an additional -1…Going into a Mind War with a +3 over your opponent seems like the odds are now in your favor. Worst case is that they tie or beat you, which means nothing happens. But if you roll well…

 

That’s it for this look at the Runes of Fate Psychic Powers from the Eldar – What powers/combos are you excited to try out?

  • Spade McTrowel

    If available, you can also cast Embolden on your farseer getting +2 Leadership.
    Also GW just put up the rules for the Bonesinger on the community page.

    • tylran

      Also, Biel-tan Farseers seem to be great at sniping other characters. Cool.

      • fenrisful2

        Not more than others, since farseers are not aspect warriors.

        • Gabor Fazekas

          bieltan gives +1 LD

          • Ryan Hunt

            …but only to Aspect Warriors

          • Gabor Fazekas

            ah true, my bad 😛

  • Thierry Boxmeer

    According to some reviews on Youtube the Hemlock pilot is not allowed to use Horrify.

    • Spade McTrowel

      I know that Hemlocks can only use the negative (2nd) version of the Battle Runes, but I don’t remember seeing anything about Horrify being disallowed.

    • nope none

      Hemlocks can’t use any of the buffs – The first line of the buff side of those spells say Friendly Infantry and Bikers.

      The Attack side of these spells have no restrictions.

      • Thierry Boxmeer

        Listened to some of the reviews again, and you guys are right. I misheard Winters SEO during his review, he stumbled along when he was explaining that part. My bad.

  • Adam Richard Corrigan

    All level 7 and one 5 is a bit high to be honest. Guide should be a 6 when you look at other disciplines but I suppose the Eldar just find it harder to cast their powers due to their natural ability and years of focused training.

  • MechBattler

    HOLY F*CK.

    Unless Executioner has another line we can’t see or an errata, there’s nothing there that says it ever STOPS.

    RAW there’s nothing in there that stops it. Every other ability of this type always had a line to the effect of “These additional wounds do not themselves generate additional wounds.”

    If this is how the power works than it’ll just delete an entire unit of one wound models no matter how many models there are.

    I REALLY hope that’s not what’s intended, because that could just make a blob of single would models vanish. Imagine 30 Gants or Orks or Cultists just going poof. That would be truly broken in every sense of the word.

    • Jimmy van der Poel

      The way I read it, you only get the extra D3 MW IF a model dies from the first D3 you roll. So, as far as I’m concerned, you only ever roll 2 D3 max.

      • MechBattler

        The annoying thing is that there IS room to argue in either direction. A reasonable player would interpret it as D3 and then possibly another D3, and it ends there. A WAAC player would definitely argue for D3 and then up to D3 three more times depending on how many wounds the first caused. A plain old jackwagon would argue for the it never stops version.

        Why, OH WHY, can’t GW just be consistent and put a line in there that says “The additional wounds do not generate more additional wounds.” like they do for every other ability that does this?

        It’s almost like they WANT people to pull their hair out rules lawyering.

        • Ryan Hunt

          What? No. That’s not how it works. It’s written VERY clearly. Deal D3 mortal wounds. If a model is slain, deal an additional D3 mortal wounds.

          Nowhere does it say “for each model slain”.

          Nowhere does it say “if a model is slain, this spell is cast again on the same target”

          It just says deal D3 mortal wounds. If a model is lain, deal another D3 mortal wounds. It’s VERY explicit, and anyone who claims otherwise is a victim of wishful thinking.