The Dungeonmaster is back! – WotC answers a bunch of rules questions to keep your D&D adventures rolling along.
This month’s installment covers:
- Class Features
- Magic Items
Here’s just a handful of samples to get you going:
Can a bard retrain spells gained through Magical Secrets?
When you gain a level in the bard class, the class’s Spellcasting feature lets you replace one bard spell you know with another bard spell of an appropriate level. A spell learned via the Magical Secrets feature counts as a bard spell, so it can be replaced upon gaining a bard level later. But it must be replaced by a bard spell, given the rule in the Spellcasting feature.
If a creature is grappled, can it still attack and use its special abilities?
The grappled condition limits movement, not attacks, spellcasting, and the like. That said, many grappling abilities, such as a roper’s tendril attack, also deliver effects like the restrained condition.
For the hat of disguise, how do I set the spell save DC for disguise self? Does the wearer have to be a caster?
Use your spellcasting modifier to set the DC. If you don’t have a spellcasting modifier, use your proficiency bonus to set it (this builds on the rule on page 141 of the DMG, under “Spells”).
Read the entire Q&A Here: