BoLS logo Tabletop, RPGs & Pop Culture

AoS: Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows

3 Minute Read
Sep 2 2017

Age of Sigmar is getting a new trilogy series and Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows is kicking it all off this month!

via Black Library

Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows

Book 1 of the Eight Lamentations trilogy

Eight mighty artefacts, crafted by the dark servants of Chaos, blight the Mortal Realms. The Ruinous Powers hunt them – and so do a group of heroes, chosen by Grungni for this dangerous and essential task.

It’s a different kind of Age of Sigmar story, and the first of a trilogy, at that! A classic quest story with a disparate group of heroes drawn together by fate and unimaginable consequences if they fail… sounds unmissable.

In the beginning, there was fire. And from fire came eight weapons of terrible power, honed to a killing edge by the chosen weaponsmiths of Khorne. Now, as the Mortal Realms echo with the thunder of war, the great powers hunt the eight wherever they might be found – whatever the cost. In a city of prophecy and secrets, Grungni, smith-god of the duardin, gathers together a group of mortal warriors from across the realms in order to seek the first of the eight. But they are not alone in their quest; agents of the Ruinous Powers want the weapon for themselves. Now the race is on, as man, duardin and daemon alike seek to claim the Spear of Shadows…

Written by Josh Reynolds


Free Extracts:

ePub or Mobi

The Warhammer Community Team also has a full interview with Author Josh Reynolds you can read HERE. But check out some of the goodies that Josh teased at below:

Josh Reynolds: The Eight Lamentations are eight mystic weapons – one for each of the Mortal Realms – created during the Age of Chaos by the Forgemasters of the Soulmaw, Khorne’s weaponsmiths.

Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows’ is about the hunt for the second of the weapons to appear – the eponymous spear, known as the Huntsman – as various parties, both mortal and otherwise, scramble to secure it for their own ends. Among those searching for the weapon are the Forgemasters of the Soulmaw, the skaven, Neferata, Grungni, and even Archaon himself.

Who are the Characters on the cover?

Josh Reynolds: In the centre is Owain Volker, Gunmaster of Azyr. Volker is the main character, to all intents and purposes. Calm and steady, he’s a consummate gunman and a skilled engineer, with an affinity for duardin culture and language. He’s drawn into the search for the weapons when an old friend, who happens to be one of Grungni’s agents, goes missing.


The duardin is Lugash, a Fyreslayer from Aqshy, of no particular lodge. Lugash is belligerent, unpleasant and possibly a little mad, most likely due to whatever experiences caused him to become a Doomseeker in the first place. Lugash serves Grungni in return for an unnamed reward, of which neither will speak.

The vampire, Adhema of Szandor, is a Blood Knight from Shyish and a servant of Neferata. She seeks to acquire the weapon for her mistress, regardless of the cost. That said, she isn’t above joining forces with ostensible enemies in order to achieve her goals.

There are more characters in the book than these three. Josh also hinted at 8 more interesting sounding characters, raven-assassins, and a giant, flying shark! I’m not entirely sure what to make of this one but it sounds like a pretty wild ride to me. I’m glad to see that the Age of Sigmar setting does still have these “mere mortals” running around interacting with the 8 realms. It’s an epic quest, set upon these “heroes” by none other than Grugni, the Duardin god of fire and metal.

So if you’re looking for some fantasy action set in the Age of Sigmar’s 8 realms keep an eye out for Spear of Shadows – Grugni demands it!


Volker and Lugash…could they be the next Gotrek and Felix?

Author: Adam Harrison
  • New Warpath Vehicles Inbound