BoLS logo Tabletop, RPGs & Pop Culture

Geekery: And the Oscar Might Go To

3 Minute Read
Jan 13

The big show is only a few weeks away. With the Golden Globes and Critic’s Choice Awards, it time to play ‘who goes home with an Oscar?” Here are this year’s nominees.

Best Picture
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Director
Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Todd Phillips, Joker
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Best Actress
Cynthia Erivo, Harriet
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
Charlize Theron, Bombshell
Renée Zellweger, Judy

Best Supporting Actress
Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Best Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

International Feature Film
Corpus Christi (Poland)
Honeyland (North Macedonia)
Les Miserables (France)
Pain and Glory (Spain)
Parasite (South Korea)

Adapted Screenplay
The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
Joker, Todd Phillips and Scott Silver
Little Women, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten


Original Screenplay
1917, Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Knives Out, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
Parasite, Bong Joon-ho and Jin Won-han

Production Design
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Film Editing
Ford v Ferrari, Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker
The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
Joker, Jeff Groth
Parasite, Jinmo Yang

1917, Roger Deakins
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

Visual Effects
Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman
The Lion King
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Costume Design
Jojo Rabbit
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
The Irishman
Little Women

Sound Mixing
Ad Astra
Ford v Ferrari
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood 


Sound Editing
Ford v Ferrari
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Original Score
1917, Thomas Newman
Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir
Little Women, Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story, Randy Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

Makeup and Hairstyling
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Animated Feature Film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Animated Short Film
Dcera (Daughter)
Hair Love

Live-Action Short Film
Nefta Football Club
The Neighbors’ Window
A Sister

Documentary Feature
American Factory
The Cave
The Edge of Democracy
For Sama

Documentary Short Subject
In the Absence
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)
Life Overtakes Me
St. Louis Superman
Walk Run Cha-Cha

Original Song
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” – Randy Newman, Toy Story 4
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” – Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Rocketman
“I’m Standing With You” – Diane Warren,Breakthrough
“Into the Unknown” – Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Frozen 2 
“Stand Up” – Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo, Harriet


Based on the standouts from the other awards, I’m betting that Bong Joon Ho’s Parasite, Joaquin Phoenix, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood, and 1917 will all come home with statues. Avengers: End Game will pick up some technical awards, Rocketman will continue its ‘Best Song’ streak. Sound editing and design likely won’t go where I want it (Ford v Ferrari), but I’d be happy to see both got to 1917.

I would be very happy to see Hildur Guðnadóttir get the big prize for her score for Joker. And Roger Deakins could use another one seeing his body of work is impeccable and the continuous shot he had to pull off for 1917 was a massive challenge.

I am sad to see Akwafina, Lupita Nyong’o, Jennifer Lopez, Ruth E. Carter, Lee Smith, Greta Gerwig, and Uncut Gems get snubbed; I’m not exactly thrilled with some of the nominees in the categories they would have been in. This is, yet again again, a year of male domination and #OscarsSoWhite. It’s continuously disappointing.

Latest News From BoLS:

  • Advertisement
  • Warhammer 40K: Psychic Awakening Greater Good - T'au Enemy Hints