BoLS logo Tabletop, RPGs & Pop Culture
Advertisement

Star Wars X-Wing: The Hound’s Tooth Unboxing

3 Minute Read
Aug 10 2015
Advertisement

Hounds Tooth

 

The BoLS crew unpacks the first of it’s GenCon goodies: The Hound’s Tooth Expansion Pack for Star Wars X-Wing! Check this OUT!

Hey BoLS Readers! AdamHarry back again with some exciting X-Wing news. This time I’ve got my hands on the new Hound’s Tooth box and I’m opening it up for YOU on camera. How did we get it? Well we went to GenCon 2015 of course! If you want to see exactly what you’re getting look no further:

The Hound’s Tooth Expansion Pack

swx31-hounds-tooth-layout

 

A modified YV-666 light freighter, Hound’s Tooth was the signature vessel of one of the galaxy’s most notorious bounty hunters and slavers, the fearsome Trandoshan Bossk.

The Hound’s Tooth Expansion Pack brings this infamous freighter to life as a towering, large-base miniature starship for the Scum and Villainy faction, rendered at the game’s standard 1/270 scale. You’ll also find four YV-666 ship cards, a new mission, and thirteen upgrades, including theHound’s Tooth Title, which allows your YV-666 pilot to survive imminent destruction by escaping aboard the Nashtah Pup, a unique Z-95 Headhunter. The Hound’s Tooth Expansion Pack also comes with a ship card for the Nashtah Pup and the rules for deploying it, though to fly it, you’ll need the miniature starship from the Most Wanted Expansion Pack or Z-95 Headhunter Expansion Pack.

Advertisement

I’ve already gotten a couple of games in with the Hound’s Tooth and it packs a punch! A 3 Dice Primary attack in an 180° arc is pretty sweet! Couple that with Bossk and you’ve got a pretty reliable way to pack on the damage. I was able to one-shot an X-Wing which is no measly feat!

bossk

Oh – and a bit of a rules clarification. Before I started playing I was unsure how the Mangler Cannon and Bossk would interact. What I learned was that with Bossk’s Pilot ability the damage has to actually register BEFORE you can flip a crit to a hit, according to the FAQ. What that means is if you get 3 crits and your target is able to cancel all 3 crits you do NOT get to flip a crit into 2 hits (thus needing 4 evades or ways to stop all 4 damage).

Mangler_cannon

For example:

Bossk shoots the Mangler Cannon at a target. He gets 2 hits and 1 crit. We’re going to assume no other modifiers and the opponent rolls no evades and has no evade tokens. What happens?

1) The Mangler Cannon ability triggers first because it’s a “When Attacking” – so before the opponent even rolls dice one of those hits is flipped to a crit. We are now at 1 hit and 2 crits.

Advertisement

2) Check to see if damage happens. In this case the opponent whiffs on the defense roll – all 3 damage dice happen.

3) Bossk’s ability kicks in. Because at this point you have “preformed an attack that hit (meaning all damage results did not get canceled)” – you may now flip ONE of those crits into 2 hits. Your new total is 3 hits and 1 crit. Ouch.

This may seem simple but Bossk being a new pilot I wanted to make sure everyone is on the same page. Once you take a look at both cards it makes a lot of sense as long as you’re familiar with how the timing works. If those two abilities triggered at the same time the active player would have gotten to choose the order in which they resolved. But they DO NOT happen at the same time. Why? Because FFG can write some air-tight rules!

 

The Hound’s Tooth may not be in stores but it’s already on the prowl! Watch your fingers, Pilots – you do NOT want to get bit by this thing. AdamHarry, OUT!

Avatar
Author:
Advertisement
  • Star Wars X-Wing: TIE Punisher Inbound